box10.gif (1299 bytes)








Centre for Patient Safety announces director

TORONTO Dr. Kaveh Shojania (pictured) has been appointed as the inaugural Director of the new University of Toronto Centre for Patient Safety. Dr. Shojania is a physician specializing in internal medicine at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, and an accomplished researcher in the area of patient safety and medical error.

The appointment was announced by the President and CEO of The Hospital for Sick Children, Mary Jo Haddad; the President and CEO of Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Barry McLellan; and the Dean of Medicine at the University of Toronto, Catharine Whiteside.

The Centre was created through partnership between the two lead hospitals, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and the Hospital for Sick Children, and the Faculty of Medicine at the U of T. It will foster novel research and education projects aimed at improving patient safety both locally and internationally.

The Centre will provide a focus for collaboration across the Toronto Academic Health Science Network, including all the affiliated hospitals and all of the health science and related programs at the University.

Dr. Shojania is appointed in the Department of Medicine and holds a Canada Research Chair in Patient Safety and Quality Improvement. He is recognized internationally for his work in these fields, especially his application of the principles of evidence-based medicine to the quality of care and patient safety agendas.

He has published widely, including numerous peer-review publications and recently co-authored a book for a general audience on patient safety, called Internal Bleeding, which has sold approximately 50,000 copies.

Prior to his recent recruitment to the University of Toronto and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Dr. Shojania held faculty positions at the University of Ottawa and the University of California San Francisco.

Professor Robert Byrick served as the Interim Director of the Centre. Dr. Shojania will assume a five-year term as Director commencing January 1, 2009.